There was an error in this gadget

Wednesday, July 11, 2012

Nursing is boring

Hello.

For the record, I am writing this while Ben is napping. And while avoiding paperwork I need to finish for Catholic Charities (my little fill in work). NOT while nursing.

For starters, as another precursor, i am very glad that I made the decision to nurse my baby and was able to do it and was stubborn enough to get through the very difficult first 1.5 months of it. I feel like I am giving him some good natural stuff and creating some good bonding between us. And yes, judge me if you will, I do use it to pacify him as well. when all else fails to settle him down (even if he just got done eating)...he loves to chill with momma, in nursing position. And who wouldn't love cuddling this little snuggle bug?



Its amusing how comfortable I have come with just whipping it out, or just letting them sit out ALL OF THE TIME. Don't worry, if you come over for a visit, I always use my cover.

But the truth of the matter is, nursing is boring. Now keep in mind this comes from someone who is slightly ADD. Nursing can take anywhere from 15-60 minutes. Now, 60 is closer to when he was a newborn, and I have been impressed lately by his efficiency and sucking power to get it done much faster, at times in as few as 15 minutes. And I do love to watch him, and sometimes we have eye contact and it is beautiful. But how long can someone really maintain that for? OK, I mean "me". Can you stare at someone for 45 minutes? straight? I try. really i do.

And I talk to him. Don't worry. This kid gets non-stop verbal assualts (with very sweet words) from his momma. I wonder sometimes if this will help his verbal skills one day or hinder them (why talk if momma is doing it non-stop?)

I wanted to go on the internet while nursing. but then got nervous with some peoples imput and what I'd read that it may not be very good for him to have the heat of the laptop there or the invisible electronic rays/signals/whatever right next to his head. So I've pretty much stopped that. Including going on my phone.

There's tv. But lets be honest people, tv stinks. There are a total of about 3 shows that I care about watching (not including sports) and 2 of them are not airing right now. (my guilty guilty pleasures of The Biggest Loser and Dancing with the Stars)

So. besides that. I have found comfort again in my Kindle. I was using it a lot, but then waned. Now I am back. I have read a few hardcover books too that were given to me by various people. I love this device. Its a basic Kindle. But i sometimes forget how much I like to read. until I do it. I do it while nursing, working out, waiting at the dr. office, etc.

would you like to know what I've been reading?
 NO!??
too bad.

-I read and finished the entire Hunger Games series. Good at the beginning. However I think the author just grew tired of it by the end and rushed through it. Completely worth the read/time.

-Out of the Darkenss: the story of Mary Ellen Wilson.  Did you know that there were laws and organizations in the US to protect the rights of animals before protecting the rights of Children???                
Out Of The Darkness: The Story of Mary Ellen Wilson

-Ghosty Men: The Strange but true story of the Collyer Brothers. THE quintessential story about hoarders
Product Details
-Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet... I HIGHLY recommend this book. Good historical/cultural fiction that is heartbreaking. Few books have a moment that catches me so off guard as this one did.
Product Details

- Half Broke Horses by Jeanette Walls.  If you read The Glass Castle. This gives you some interesting insight into where her mother came from. A Good read.
Product Details

-Sing You Home by Jodi Piccoult. A somewhat controversial book, as usual by Jody. She always makes you think about social/ethical issues. She gives a glimpse at both sides. I don't recommend if you are pregnant. i started reading it while expecting and the first few chapters were somewhat traumatizing. I put it down and waited till after Ben was born to continue on.
Product Details

-Life of Pi by Yann martel. An interesting story of being stranded at sea. if you can believe it actually happened.
Product Details

-Currently I am reading this: 'In the Garden of Beasts" by Erik Larson. And if you like history (which I am somewhat obsessed with WW2 history) and anything else he has ever written (which I would recommend his other books too). its the story of the US embassador to Germany just before WW2 and how society was changing around him and what he did and did not do and his naivety. its a slow read. but chalk full of info
Product Details

and I keep trying to read "Cutting for Stone" but it is boring me. With enough encouragement I may be able to continue on.

I am super open to other book suggestions.
Especially if they have a spiritual bent. i am actually desperately in need of some good real life practical spiritually encouraging books in the vein of Donald Miller or Anne LaMott. I've heard Jenn Hatmaker is good. Any thoughts???

Wow.

See. I am rather ADD.

2 comments:

  1. My personal, somewhat recent favs:
    A Million miles in a thousand years (donald miller) - memoir/non-fiction
    if you like historical fiction, book club enjoyed moloka'i (brennert) and I read a group of books by ken follett - pillars of the earth // world without end // fall of giants and throughly enjoyed them, though they are HUGE. but kept me entertained during labor (true story).

    also, jen hatmaker's newest books (interrupted and seven) - spiritual, non-fiction, keep me thinking. but i'm sure Angela has put that bug in your ear.
    boy, when I try to list them I draw a blank, but I feel like I've enjoyed a lot of books lately.

    ReplyDelete
  2. thanks! i have read those Follett books and were difficult to put down, even though they were long. really leaning towards checking out Hatmaker.

    ReplyDelete